Ann Burkhart

Curtis Bradbury Kellar Professor of Law & Distinguished University Teaching Professor
Purdue University, B.S., M.S.
University of Illinois, J.D.
Office: 426
Mondale Hall, 229 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455
P: 612-625-4522

Professor Ann M. Burkhart is the Curtis Bradbury Kellar Professor of Law. She is a nationally recognized expert in the area of real estate law. She teaches Property Law, Real Estate Transactions, Land Use Planning, Comparative Property Law, and Consumer Protection Law. She is a Distinguished University Teaching Professor and has received the Law School's Stanley V. Kinyon Teaching and Counseling Award five times.

Professor Burkhart received B.S. and M.S. degrees from Purdue University. She graduated, magna cum laude, from the University of Illinois College of Law, where she was Lead Note and Comments Editor of the University of Illinois Law Review and a member of the Order of the Coif. After graduating from law school, Professor Burkhart clerked for the Honorable James C. Hill of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit. She then practiced law with Sidley & Austin in Chicago and with Alston & Bird in Atlanta.

Professor Burkhart joined the University of Minnesota Law School faculty in 1982. She is a member of The American Law Institute and was an Adviser for the Restatement (Third) of Property-Security (Mortgages). She currently is serving on the Members Consultative Group for the Restatement of Property (Fourth). Professor Burkhart is a member of the American College of Real Estate Lawyers and serves as its representative to the Uniform Law Commission Joint Editorial Board for Uniform Real Property Acts. She also was the Reporter for the Uniform Manufactured Housing Act. Professor Burkhart is a Fellow of the American College of Mortgage Attorneys and of the American Bar Foundation and serves on the Minnesota State Bar Association Real Estate Section Executive Council. She has been a visiting professor at the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, UCLA School of Law, Uppsala University College of Law in Sweden, and Christian-Albrechts University in Germany.