Brad Clary '75

Clinical Professor of Law Emeritus
Carleton College, B.A.
University of Minnesota Law School, J.D.
Office: 444
Mondale Hall, 229 19th Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55455
P: 612-625-1059

Clinical Professor Emeritus Bradley G. Clary ’75 was the 2004-2006 Vaughan G. Papke Clinical Professor of Law. From 1999-2016, he coordinated and supervised the legal writing and moot court programs, along with, from time to time, the basic trial advocacy programs. He regularly teaches evidence, deposition skills, and law in practice.

Professor Clary received his B.A. degree, magna cum laude, in History from Carleton College and his J.D. degree, cum laude, from the University of Minnesota Law School. He became an associate at Oppenheimer Wolff & Donnelly in 1975 and a partner in 1982. At various times between 1993 and 1998, he chaired the Antitrust, General Litigation, and Business Litigation practice groups, respectively. Professor Clary was an adjunct professor teaching antitrust at the William Mitchell College of Law in 1997 and 1999, and an adjunct instructor teaching lawyering skills for the school in 1995-1996 and 1998. He joined the University of Minnesota faculty full-time in 1999.

He has served as a faculty member for the Minnesota Institute of Legal Education, a speaker for the Minnesota Department of Health, a faculty member for Minnesota Law & Politics, and a faculty member for Minnesota Continuing Legal Education, teaching courses on various antitrust, appellate advocacy, and legal writing topics.

Professor Clary was an adjunct professor at the University of Minnesota Law School from 1985-1999, serving as a faculty advisor for the National Moot Court program. He is a member of the American Bar Association, and served on the Communication Skills Committee of the ABA Section on Legal Education from 2001 to 2008. He is also a member of the Minnesota State Bar Association, co-chaired the MSBA Antitrust Section from 1990-1992, and served on the governing council of the MSBA Appellate Practice Section. He has served on the Minnesota Supreme Court's Advisory Committee on the Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure and on the Court's Civil Justice Reform Task Force. He was the 2004-2005 president of the Association of Legal Writing Directors. He is an elected member of the American Law Institute and an elected fellow of the American Bar Foundation.