Minnesota Law to Participate in Hunton Andrews Kurth Moot Court National Championship

Earlier this spring, it was announced that for the first time in Law School history, Minnesota Law has been invited to participate in the Hunton Andrews Kurth Moot Court National Championship in early 2025. The Hunton Andrews Kurth Moot Court National Championship is unique among moot court competitions. An invitation-only event held at the University of Houston Law Center, the competition invites the top 16 law schools to participate based on cumulative results from the most recent moot court competition season.

Minnesota Law's moot court program has had several notable successes this year. The Law School advanced to the national round of the National Moot Court Competition, won the Mardi Gras Moot Court Invitational, won the Jeffrey G. Miller National Environmental Law Moot Court Competition at Pace University in New York, and won the Michigan State University Gender & Sexuality Moot Competition. Additional teams won both team and individual awards at other competitions.

"Advancing to the national championship is a fantastic reflection of all our moot court students and coaches," says Professor Randall Ryder '09, director of the Moot Court Program. "Both this year's teams and the previous teams laid the foundation for these outstanding successes. The combination of impressive advocacy skills with a commitment to collaboration has taken the teams and program to an entirely new level."

Minnesota Law students competing in the national championship include Leah Kanihan '25, Madeleine Kim '25, and David Lindgren '25. The team will be coached by Professor Randall Ryder '09 and Professor Emeritus Brad Clary '75.

Randall Ryder ’09

Assistant Professor of Appellate Advocacy
Director of Moot Court Program
Director of Law in Practice

Brad Clary ’75

Clinical Professor of Law Emeritus
Distinguished University Teaching Professor