Mondale Hall at sunset


Professors Meili and Dewey Receive Promotions

Steve Meili has been elevated to rank of full professor and faculty research librarian Scott Dewey has received promotion and continuous appointment as associate librarian. 

The two academic promotions, newly approved by the Board of Regents, are effective in August.

Professors Steve Meili ans Scott Dewey

Minnesota Law Students Help Client Avoid Removal from U.S. with Second 6th Circuit Appellate Win

Minnesota Law students have helped win a decisive second victory allowing a man to reunite with family in the United States and potentially sparing others from unlawful repeated removal actions in a key ruling from the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

The Sixth Circuit’s opinion in Jasso Arangure v. Garland serves as a significant check on federal prosecutorial power in administrative immigration proceedings, according to clinical professor Nadia Anguiano-Wehde ’17.

(Photo: Tony Nelson)

Law School to Launch Sports and NIL Clinic  

A new clinic Minnesota Law will launch next fall will offer name, image, and likeness (NIL) legal assistance to students with NIL needs, including college athletes and social media influencers of all types.

 Created in partnership with the law firm of Fredrikson & Byron, the Sports and NIL Clinic will help its student clients navigate the tricky legal waters of sponsorships, endorsement deals, and image licensing. 

Fredrikson & Byron attorney Chris Pham, Tarun Sharma, 3L,  and Colton Messer, 3L

Working through the Clemency Project, 3L Kendra Saathoff Testifies on a Sentencing Bill That She Helped Draft

Kendra Saathoff, 3L, has dedicated herself to supporting survivors of domestic violence. She’s now asking Minnesota lawmakers to join her by passing a bill that could reduce the sentences of victims of domestic abuse, sexual assault or sex trafficking who commit crimes as a result of their abuse.

Saathoff, a student director of the Law School’s Clemency Clinic, has spent the last year working with Professor JaneAnne Murray, who oversees the clinic, to draft the Survivors’ Justice Act.

3L Kendra Saathoff

Prof. JaneAnne Murray Honored with NACDL Champion of Justice Award

Professor JaneAnne Murray was awarded the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers (NACDL) Champion of Justice Legal Award on February 26 during the Association’s Midwinter Meeting in Austin, Texas.

Champion of Justice Awards are bestowed upon those individuals who—through legislative, journalistic, philanthropic, or humanitarian pursuits—have staunchly preserved or defended the constitutional rights of American citizens and have endeavored to ensure justice and due process for persons accused of crime.

Professor JaneAnne Murray

Prof. Steve Meili Appointed Director of Law Clinics

Professor Steve Meili has been appointed as the new director of the law clinics for a three-year term, starting this summer.

Meili, the James H. Michael Chair in International Human Rights Law, joined the Law School in 2008, became a tenured associate professor in 2018. He previously held the James H. Binger Professorship in Clinical Law (awarded in 2019). 

Prof. Steve Meili