2021 Faculty & Staff Appreciation Event


2021 Faculty & Staff Appreciation Event

Dean Garry W. Jenkins joined faculty and staff in a virtual celebration of the milestones and achievements of our Law School community on June 24, 2021.

Congratulations on Your Retirement!

Professor Steve Befort ’74 Retiring After Nearly Four Decades at Law School

Professor Stephen Befort
Stephen Befort ’74 has been a pillar of the Minnesota Law labor and employment law community, making significant contributions in the classroom, clinic, and courtroom and producing incisive scholarship and legal writing during a nearly 40-year career at the University. Known as a national and international authority on labor and employment law, Befort helped establish the Labor & Employment Law concentration and brought rich public-sector experience to his work.

Read more about Professor Befort’s distinguished career in our latest issue of Minnesota Law.


In Pursuit of Justice: Retiring Professor Richard Frase Closes the Book on a Storied Career in Criminal Law

Professor Richard Frase
During his 50-year legal career, Richard Frase earned a place as one of the country’s foremost experts on sentencing guidelines and criminal justice. Since joining Minnesota Law in 1977, Frase has made significant contributions to the understanding of sentencing guidelines and systems. Notably, he led the development of the novel sentencing center, a centralized hub of federal and state sentencing guidelines, statutes, and other information detailing how sentencing commissions and guidelines work.

Read more about Professor Frase’s distinguished career in Minnesota Law.


Professor Fred Morrison Retires After More Than 50 Years of Teaching at Minnesota Law

Professor Fred Morrison
When Professor Fred Morrison came to the University of Minnesota Law School in 1969, the entering class was nearly all male, there were no international students, Minnesota statutes fit tightly into two volumes, and the faculty was as big as the second largest law firm in the state. Times have changed.

Read more about Professor Fred Morrison’ distinguished career in Minnesota Law.





Congratulations to Faculty and Staff on your Milestone Anniversaries!

Congratulations to Kathryn Baratto!
Congratulations to Robin Ingli!
Congratulations to Hannah Kuether!
Congratulations to Abigail Loyd!
Congratulations to Terese Lynch!
Congratulations to Deepinder Mayell!
Congratulations to Shari Ober!
Congratulations to Loren Turner!
Congratulations to Scott Uhl!
Congratulations to Garrett Howe!
Congratulations to Claudia Melo!
Congratulations to Noelle Noonan!
Congratulations to Dale Trexel!
Congratulations to Prentiss Cox!
Congratulations to Alan Erbsen!
Congratulations to Michael Hannon '98!
Congratulations to Jill Hasday!
Congratulations to Richard Painter!
Congratulations to Kevin Reitz!
Congratulations to Brett McDonnell!
Congratulations to Paula Swanson!
Congratulations to Jean Sanderson!
Congratulations to Michael Tonry!
Congratulations to Carol Chomsky!


Congratulations to Faculty and Staff on your Promotions!


Welcome New Faculty and Staff to Minnesota Law!


Voted Most Likely To... Mondale Superlatives